Matchmaking

Sorry I’ve been away for so long. Other parts of LIFE just seem to keep derailing my best intensions.

Tonight we’ll see whether some matchmaking will work out or not. I am starting a new Canine Good Citizen (CGC) prep class. One of the dogs was raised in a show kennel and appears not to have had sufficient early socialization. He’s shy with people and skittish around other dogs. A dear friend adopted him last year and she’s had difficulty getting him to relax while at the training center.

In class this evening I’m hoping to situate him next to a very sweet Welsh Corgi. I’m hoping her charm and charisma will win him over, perhaps not tonight but through the next several weeks. I believe there’s a more confident dog within the shy exterior. This “pairing” method has succeeded before — pair a shy dog with a happy, confident, non-threatening one and it can open up the shy dog’s world.

Cross your fingers. I’ll post updates 🙂

Leave a Reply

